Logg på
Du er her: NTNU Samfunnsforskning / English / About us
About us
NTNU Samfunnsforskning (NTNU Social Research) is one of Norway’s largest research institutes within applied social sciences. Our research addresses issues related to welfare and marginalisation, human development, mental health, as well as topics related to innovation in organisations, trade and industries. We collaborate closely with related research groups at NTNU (the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim, Norway) and are located next to the university campus at Dragvoll, Trondheim.
Our activities are distributed across five research units:
NTNU Social Research has a multi-disciplinary profile and a staff of researchers with backgrounds in the social sciences, natural sciences, technology and humanities. We work across research units where this gives synergies.
NTNU Social Research was established by NTNU in 2004 as part of a restructuring of the externally funded research portfolio. It is a continuation of the research foundation Allforsk established in 1987, but with a history dating back to the early 1980s. The purpose of the restructuring was to establish an organisation suited to respond to research tenders from a wide range of funding bodies such as the Research Council of Norway, ministries and directorates, private businesses, and trade associations, etc. NTNU Social Research is a corporation owned in its entirety by NTNU.

Key figures
Turnover 2014: 89.9 million Norwegian kroner
Number of FTEs 2014: 83.3
Associates December 2014: 106, of whom 58.5% female
Contracted research assignments 2014:

Jan Tøssebro – Executive director
Berit Berg – Research director Diversity and Inclusion
Trond Hatling – Head of Napha
Ann-Iren Kittang Jost – Research director CIRiS
Per Morten Schiefloe – Research director Studio Apertura
Lars Wichstrøm – Research director Human Development
Kari Laupstad – Head of administration
Gro Irene Solberg – Finance manager

Kari Melby – chair
Geir Arild Espnes
Marit S. Haugen
Martin Gjelsvik
Anne Trine Kjørholt
Heidi Størkersen – employee representative
Christian Wendelborg – employee representative
Tonje C. Osmundsen – deputy employee representative
Hans Donali Tilset – deputy employee representative

Statutes and Bylaws
Annual reports and accounts
You find us here
Our locations

Tlf: 91 89 77 27

Phone: (+47) 73 82 10 00

Besøksadresse: Dragvoll Allé 38 B

Visiting address: Dragvoll Allé 38 B

Postadresse: 7491 Trondheim

Postal address: 7491 Trondheim

Organisasjonsnummer: 986 243 836

VAT: 986 243 836

Copyright: NTNU Samfunnsforskning